Signs and Wonders and Whales, a Story of Faith

Gray Whale Tail

Lately a lot of bizarre and unusual things have been happening in my life.

Mostly I’m amazed and I get a renewed trust and faith that God is part of my life.

But part of me gets saddened when these things happen.

Why?

Because the scripture most often quoted at me by Christians is this, something Jesus said…

The only sign that will be given to this evil generation is the sign of Jonah (Mark 8:12, Luke 11:29, Matthew 16:4)

The trouble is, when you apply this to what God wants to do in the life of a person eagerly following Him and wanting to do His will, you would be wrong…

  1. Jesus did many miraculous signs, not just his death, burial, and resurrection (the sign of Jonah he spoke of). So what did Jesus mean when he says there will be only one sign? Was He contradicting Himself? Not at all! That message was intended specifically for the religious leaders who were trying to trap Him, and referring to a specific sign, proof that He is the Messiah they were seeking. In fact, the Apostle John, one of the people closest to Jesus, said Jesus did so many signs and wonders that there are not enough books on the entire Planet Earth to record them all (John 21:25)
  2. If you’re not seeing any signs and wonders in your life, consider this: There were towns that had the privilege of our Lord and Savior visiting in person, where he could not perform any miracles, because of their lack of faith, and unbelief. (Mark 6:5)
  3. And for those thinking that Jesus’s miracles were things He did only in his time in his physical body here on Earth, here’s a few scriptures for your consideration:
    1. Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Hebrews 13:8)
    2. Jesus said, “My Father is always working, and so am I.” (John 5:17)

https://twitter.com/8min2live/status/330388725219590144

The irony of all this, the sign of Jonah involving a whale (okay, technically, it was a big fish, not a whale), and whales are something I’ve experienced lately…

I’m sitting at the pier at a local beach because I feel that God’s called me to be in this particular place at this particular time, and I pray this…

Lord, I feel like an idiot. Please show me that You’re here, that You’re guiding my path, that I’m not wasting my time here. Could you maybe give me a sign, like you did for Gideon? I don’t know, maybe have some whales or dolphins show up?

Five minutes after praying that prayer, here comes four dolphins and two whales. And sure, skeptics are all to ready to find all sorts of reasons why the animals showed up. Sorry, but no. This is NOT a regular occurrence. I’m reminded of something else Jesus said, “Someone could come back from the dead, and they STILL wouldn’t believe.”  (Luke 16:31)

And that of course is precisely what happened, 2000 years ago.

You know what the trouble is? Deep down, people are bothered by a personal, in-your-face God who wants to be involved in their lives.

Jesus said He came so that we could have a rich, full life (John 10:10). Do you feel you’re there yet? If not, then why not ask God to get involved? Because He won’t, without your invitation.

Stay tuned to this blog to find out what happens here at the pier.

Leave a Reply

