Am I a Bible-Thumper, or What?

What.

Huh?

Meaning, not a Bible Thumper. The other thing. The “what”. Though I kind of am. A thumper that is. Wait. Which is it?

One day when I was still in my teens, my mom, observing how I was always reading fantasy and sci-fi novels, asked me, “Why don’t you read your Bible once in a while?”

To which I replied, “Because if I want to read fiction, I’d rather read something interesting.”

Wow. I have been eating those words ever since.

So maybe you’re not a big fan of “Christians” always looking down their nose at people and being judgmental. Right?

Guess what? You have something in common with Jesus then.

He once said to his followers, his disciples, “Many will come to me on Judgement day calling me Lord, and I will say to them, get away from me. I don’t know you.”

Pretty harsh, right? Many. As in, more than half.

The reverse is also true. There are going to be a lot of people Jesus wants to hang out with, that didn’t even think they were getting into Heaven, and will be surprised to be there.

What did Jesus think of church? Well, when he attended church (temple) he brought a whip with him and went Indiana Jones on bunch of self-righteous types. I bet he was a popular guy {insert sarcasm alert here}.

The most well-thought of religious leaders of his time? He called them a pit of snakes. He called them whitewashed tombs, pretty on the outside, but rotting stinking filth on the inside.

No wonder they all wanted him dead.

So yeah. I’ll be talking a lot about Jesus and God’s will, and backing it up with references to what He’s actually said, so you don’t have to take my word for it. And most of it is going to be eye-opening stuff. Things you’ve probably never heard in a church.

Hang on for the ride. Subscribe today to get a heads-up in your email when something new gets posted. While you’re waiting, have a peek at this…

Leave a Reply

