Feeling out of place can be a GOOD thing

Another Place by Rob :)
Another Place, a photo by Rob ūüôā on Flickr.

Ever feel like you don’t belong in this World? Like there really isn’t anyplace here that feels like home? Does that make you wonder if there is something wrong with you?

Why would I say that this feeling is a GOOD thing?

https://twitter.com/8min2live/status/282624046699528192

Feeling like you don’t belong here is a sign that God’s trying to call you, to tell you something.¬†It’s possible to feel lonely even when surrounded by people. Ever get lost in a big city?¬†Sometimes the more people, the more lost you feel.

I got inspired and started on this train of thought after running across this Tweet, so credit where credit is due…

Is it possible for someone popular and famous and successful, with 27 million followers on Twitter, to still feel like they don’t belong here? Definitely. Maybe even more so than someone living a “simple” life.

Someone else famous said it best…

I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. … They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. … I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, … O righteous Father, even though the world does not know you, I know you, and these know that you have sent me.

John 17:9, 16, 20, 25 ESV

Well… if we don’t have a home in the world, where then?

Heaven.

Father, I desire that they also whom You gave Me may be with Me where I am, that they may behold My glory which You have given Me; for You loved Me before the foundation of the world.

John 17:24 NKJV

In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.

John 14:2-4 ESV

This world is just a temporary assignment, a part we have to play in a movie, only we have a choice in how we want to play our part.

So can any of this help us to feel less out-of-place, here and now?

Absolutely.

The secret? The more you are aware of Heaven, the more you focus your efforts¬†here in preparation for what you have, and what you will be doing¬†there, the more you will feel that you have a purpose, that you’re accomplishing something.

And the¬†Kingdom of Heaven, you will find, isn’t¬†out there. It’s closer than you think. That’s where personal peace comes from. Ever wonder why Christmas carols talk about peace on Earth? It hasn’t exactly been peaceful here since his coming. Heck, Jesus himself talked about how he would cause wars and strife, even within families.

What’s this about peace then? Where is it? It’s about peace¬†with God. Restoring our relationship with¬†Him. This is not about getting to church, sitting in a pew, doing your time. This is about a¬†personal experience with the Creator of the Universe. The thing is, He’s not all that hard to find. The trouble is, most people don’t¬†want to find Him. Do you?

Leave a Reply

